Pacific Ventures are inaugural 10PL champions

Pacific Ventures clinched the inaugural Ten Premier League (10PL) gully cricket tournament held at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Former Indian opener Virender Sehwag was the brand ambassador for the richest gully cricket tournament carrying a total cash prize of Dh250,000.

The tournament, held under the auspices of Sharjah Cricket Council, received a tremendous response with teams from India, Pakistan and GCC countries competing for the top prize.

On Friday evening, the final was keenly contested as Pacific Ventures defeated Team Petromann by six wickets.

Batting first, Team Petromann scored 59 for six in 10 overs with Shreyas Indulkar top scoring on 23.

Abhijeet Dudhe and Jignesh Patel claimed two wickets each.

In reply Krishna Satpute (14) and Yogesh Penkar (16) played fine knocks as Pacific Ventures crossed the target in just 7.3 overs.

The winners were presented with the trophy and Dh115,000 cash prize while the runners up team received Dh60,000.

Earlier, in the semifinals, Team Petromann defeated Al Falah Cricket Club – Saudi Arabia by 48 runs, while Pacific Ventures secured a seven-wicket win over Eastern Blues – Saudi Arabia.

Earlier in the group matches, Pacific Ventures, Team Petromann, SKC Goa and Friday C remained unbeaten winning all their three matches.

Shreyas Indulkar of Petromann bagged the player of the tournament award while Krishna Satpute of Pacific Ventures won the best batsman award and Rohan Sawant claimed the best bowler award.

The tournament was organised by Petromann and sponsored by Danube, Domino & Sveston watches, Lama Tours, Pocari Sweat, Pacific Ventures, Radio 4 89.1FM, Tools Marcom and Delhi Darbar with Cricon as the event consultants.

Brief scores:


Pacific Ventures bt Team Petromann by 6 wickets: Team Petromann 59-6 in 10 overs (Shreyas Indulkar 23, Umar 16, Jignesh Patil 2-10, Abhijeet Dudhe 2-11) Pacific Ventures 60 for 4 in 7.3 overs (Yogesh Penkar 16 not out, Krishna Satpute 14; Rohan 2-9)

Individual awards:

Man of the final: Jignesh Patel

Best Batsman: Krishna Satpute

Best bowler: Rohan Sawant

Best allrounder: Shreyas Indulkar